Islands in India - Civil Services Preparation Online! UPSC & IAS Study Material

Islands in India

by Devender

0 1037

There are 247 islands in India out of which 204 islands are in the Bay of Bengal and 43 in the Arabian Sea. There are also some coral islands in the Gulf of Mannar.

Islands in India

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal consists of hard volcanic rocks and the middle Andaman and Nicobar Islands are the largest islands of India.

  • The Lakshadweep islands are located in the Arabian Sea and formed by corals
  • The southernmost point of India is located in Nicobar Island
  • It is known as Indira Point formerly Pigmalion Point
  • The Indira Point is submerged underwater after the 2004 Tsunami

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
    Lakshadweep Islands
    These are volcanic islands that represent submarine volcanism
    These are a union of coral islands that are completely different from the A&N Islands
    These islands also represent the surfaces of submerged folds such as the extension of Himalaya, Arakan Yoma Fold Mountains of Myanmar
    These islands comprise a large number of dead corals, fringing, atoll coral reefs and barrier
    These are formed of Granite rocks and have high hills and peaks such as Saddle Peak
    There is the presence of scattered vegetation of palm species
    These have Equatorial climates along with tropical rain forests
    The soils are calcium-rich and filled with organic limestone

  • Famous Islands in India:
  • 1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands: These are continuations of the Arakan Yoma mountain range of Myanmar

    2 Nicobar Islands: These Islands are just 147 km away from Sumatra Island (Indonesia)

    3 Mazuli Islands: It is located on the Brahmaputra in Assam and is the largest riverine island in the world

    4 New Moore Island: It is a disputed site between India and Bangladesh. It is located on the Ganges-Brahmaputra Delta region

    5 Sagar Island: It is located in West Bengal on the continental shelf of the Bay of Bengal

    6 Wheeler Island: It is an integrated Missile Test Range facility in Orissa

    7 Hope Island: It is home to Satish Dhawan Space Centre and is located on the coast of Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh

    8 Sriharikota Island: It is a Satellite launch centre located in Andhra Pradesh

    9 Narcondam Island: It is an extinct volcano island in the Andaman Sea

    10 Barren Island: It is a dormant Volcano Island in the Andaman Sea

    11 Katchatheevu Island: It was forcibly given to Sri Lanka by India in 1974

    12 Salasette Island: It is a group of 7 islands

    13 Wellington Island: A naval station located in Kerala

  • Rama's Bridge/Rama Setu/Adam's Bridge:

It lies off the southeastern coast of Tamil Nadu, India, and Mannar Island off the northwestern coast of Sri Lanka.

It is a chain of limestone shoals between Pamban Island which is also known as Rameswaram Island.

Best WordPress Hosting


SSL for business, from $12.88

Discount Coupons

Get a .COM for just $6.98

Secure Domain for a Mini Price

Leave a Reply

    Waiting for your comments