The Indian rupee (INR) | INR Full Form, What is INR | Indian Currency

The Indian Rupee (INR)

by Monika Dadool 18-Oct-18

0 2542

Currency is generally used to represent an accepted form of money. Every country has its own currency. Like every country, India also has an official currency i.e. Indian Rupee act as the official currency of the Republic of India declared by Government of India. India has colourful currencies. INR stands for Indian Rupee.

RBI issue and control Indian Rupee. 1 rupee is equal to 100 paise. Rupee can be split into paisa. It is available in coin denomination and paisa denomination.

Traditionally there was the denomination of 2 paisa, 5 paisa but, they are completely removed nowadays. In coin denomination, coins contains 1,2,5,10 rupees coins whereas in notes there are 1, 5, 10, 2, 10, 20, 200, 100, 50, 500, 2000 etc.

Indian rupee symbol was originated from Devanagari Script Consonant and the number's written in it are also taken from this script only. At the time of British rule, a rupee was split into 16 annas. It was accepted by the people that the rupees were firstly originated by Sher Shah Suri in the middle ages at 40 copper chunks per rupee.

Every Indian note has written the specific amount in 17 different languages. English and Hindi on the front side and 15 other languages on the back side of the note representing diverseness of the country.

Protection Concerns

Indian rupees are required to be implemented with advanced features because of the chance of duplicity. Duplicate notes play a major role in the economic depreciation.

Given below the list of some security measures that needed to avoid duplication.

a) Watermarking

b) Fluorescence

c) Identification marks need to be used

d) Need to integrate security thread

e) Optically variable ink usage

f) Intaglio printing

g) Latent image


Discount Coupons

Leave a Reply

    Waiting for your comments